Tags

, , , , ,


New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Probst is my guest today folks! 😀

Jennifer’s latest book, “The Marriage Bargain“, which went on sale today (September 4), is book 1 in the Marriage to a Billionaire series.  To celebrate the eBook version reaching #8 on the list of bestselling Kindle e-books, Jennifer has a Giveaway on for a Kindle Fire and a $25 gift certificate to one lucky reader in the USA/Canada! 😀

Simply (1) POST A COMMENT below then (2) enter the RAFFLECOPTER (click on the word ‘Rafflecopter’).

CABR: Thanks for stopping by Caribbean Accent Book Reviews during your blog tour.Let’s turn the tables a bit and have you tell us what’s been the most popular question/s bloggers have asked you?

JP: Good question! I’ve been asked a lot about what inspired me to write this book and my general life as a writer. I have always adored the marriage of convenience plots and challenged myself to write something within this popular trope that was fresh and would connect with readers. It’s always about the characters for me, and that is what I come up with first. The rest falls into place once I know my characters.

CABR: “The Marriage Bargain”, book 1 in the Marriage to a Billionaire series, sounds like a fun yet emotional read. Did one of the characters pop into your head and demand their story be told?

JP: Yes, I knew I wanted my hero to be completely damaged and have walls built around his heart. I also knew I wanted to pit him against his complete opposite, a woman who’d challenge him by her kindness and spunk and slowly rip down those barriers. Relationships are so full of pain and pleasure and angst, and exploring theirs in depth was quite satisfying.

CABR: If TMB were to be made into a movie, who would you want to play Alexa and Nicholas and why?

JP: Movie negotiations are still going on and I always pictured Chris Hemsworth as a great Nick. He can give the emotional depth needed in the character, he has ability for droll humor, and his physical aspects match Nick completely. That being said, I am completely open to other ideas and my readers have given me many good ones!

Alexa is harder for me and I’m not stuck on one character yet that I think would perfectly match her. Some great suggestions to fit her type would be:  Olivia Munn, Alexandra Daddario and Kimberly Williams Paisley.

CABR: Did you write down story outlines for all three Marriage to a Billionaire books at once or let the story flow from 1 to 2 to 3?

JP: I actually needed to sell a three book contract so I had already known Maggie’ s story since she was so prevalent in book 1. But book 3 I needed to brainstorm a bit for an overall sketch and then when I begin writing the book I flesh out the details.

CABR: The e-version of TMB has already sold more than a half-million copies in just six months, as the #8 bestselling Kindle e-book for the first half of the year and #9 on the New York Times’ combined print and e-book fiction list. What did you do when Entangled Publishing gave you the good news?

JP: Almost passed out. Literally. How does it feel to have a dream you’ve had your whole life come true? Pretty fabulous! And I’m so humbled by the success of this little book and the readers who email me about the connection. It just doesn’t get any better than this and I will forever remember and be grateful.

CABR: What’s next from you, Jennifer?

JP: So many possibilities! Perhaps a fourth in the marriage series to give my last character her happy ever after. A new series work up. A stand alone novel about a food critic and restaurant owner with a past and a taste for revenge. A holiday short coming November called The Holiday Hoax. Lots of good stuff!

CABR: What’s the funniest fan interaction you’ve had?

JP: I had someone who needed to undergo a medical procedure and asked to read The Marriage Trap just in case something happened! I felt terrible – I couldn’t do it so I offered to mail out swag. My husband looked at me and said, “Really, Jen? Swag?” It was the best I could do! My fans are completely awesome and I adore chatting with them in all forms of social media.

CABR: Were you awestruck upon meeting any particular author/s at conventions? Were you able to ‘keep it together’?

JP: Yeah, I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips and stalk her at conventions. I met her in the airport bathroom once and freaked out she was right next to me washing her hands. Yep, a very weird fan girl moment. I think she’s brilliant and have loved all of her books, and she’s always so nice!

CABR: If you could be someone else for a day, from any time in history, who would you be and why?

JP: Would love to travel to Italy during the Renaissance period and immerse myself in the arts and creativity of the time. But as a woman, I better be rich and able to pick my own mate – lol!

CABR: Which character from fiction, yours or another author’s, would you like to spend time with and why?

JP: One of my favorite books is Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain and I’d love to hang with the hero Enzo, who is a dog – really a human trapped in a dog’s body. I’d learn a lot.

CABR: Thank you again Jennifer for stopping by my blog.

JP: Thank you so much for taking the time to interview me – it was truly a pleasure to be here!

Remember to WIN a Kindle Fire and a $25 gift certificate from Jennifer, (1) POST A COMMENT below then (2) enter the RAFFLECOPTER (click on the word ‘Rafflecopter’). Entries close on September 24, 2012.

