Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s cowboy romance time again at Beyond The Page ladies and gentlemen. 😀

Today it’s my pleasure to introduce you to Sarah M Anderson, Harlequin Desire & Samhain author of modern-day cowboy-&-Indian novels. This self-decribed “mom of a smart-aleck, wife of accountant, walker of dogs” and oh yeah, author, has a fantastic two-part Giveaway.

How do you enter?

Simple – LEAVE A COMMENT below about why you’d love to WIN an autographed copy of “A Man of Distinction” and Sarah will randomly choose a name. Plus, you also have a chance to win a handcrafted book necklace made by Sarah herself! Check the Authorial Moms blog September 11th to see if you were the winner!

Now that you know the rules, on to the Beyond The Page interview…

CABR: What’s the most popular question/s people have about “A Man of Distinction?”

SMA: Oddly enough, the most common question is less about Distinction and more about the end of “A Man of Privilege”, my July Desire release. That book ended with FBI Agent Thomas Yellow Bird, and a lot of readers were expecting Distinction to be about him. It’s not, sadly (I’m working on Yellow Bird, I promise!). But a close second is how much everyone *loves* Bear, the baby in the book. He’s a cutie!

CABR: You dedicated this book, the third and final part of the “Lawyers In Love” series from Harlequin Desire, to your husband. Was he your inspiration for Nick Longhair?

SMA: Heavens, no! Well, I borrowed a lot of the tender fathering from my husband – he was so wonderful when our son was a baby. But the rest of Nick Longhair’s personality is completely different! I have this over-active imagination, see…

Luckily, my husband is wonderfully tolerant of all the conversations with imaginary, hunky men. That’s why he got the book dedicated to him! (Also, I thought it prudent to dedicate one to him sooner, rather than later. It’s all about marital harmony here!)

CABR: LOL Smart move Sarah.

Did you have to do any special research for this series/this book?

SMA: Well, I’m not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV. But I know several lawyers and a judge, so I asked a lot of questions. I’m also not a Lakota Indian, so that’s another kind of research. Some of that is from memory – I’ve been to a lot of powwows, for example, so I don’t have to go read about them. But this book also features a sub-plot about fracking. That took a lot of research to get the details down – all of which were important, but boring. Most of that didn’t even make the final cut. Finally, my beta reader is a pediatric nurse, so she gives me a thorough walk-through about children’s health care. In other words, writing a book takes a village!

CABR: How has your life changed since you were first published last year?

SMA: In a lot of ways, it hasn’t. I still take my kid to school and pick him up; I still have a part-time job. I’m not swimming in diamonds or bossing my butler around. But in other ways, things have changed. I find it much easier to justify yet another pair of cowboy boots, and the majority of our family vacations center around travel to conferences now. (The whole family went to New York for RWA last year. We were there for over a week!) I have a few people recognize me now (I live in a small-enough town that it happens), so that’s always a head-trip.

CABR: That’s cool – the boots, the recognition and of course, the family/work trips. 🙂

What’s next for you? Any book deals you want to tell us about?

SMA: So. Many. Books. I have a four-month lull, but 2013 will be nutty!

In January, my first book from Samhain, Mystic Cowboy, will release. Then, right on its heels in February, I’ll have a Harlequin Desire called A Real Cowboy. In May will be the first of a three-book series, The Bolton Boys (They live fast, ride hard, and love fiercely!) The first one, Straddling the Line, will be out in May. The other two will be out later in the year. And I’m already working on 2014!

CABR: Wow. Looking forward to reading them.

On another note, conventions are an excellent place to connect with fellow writers, your fans and potential publishers of new series. Why ones do you attend and why?

SMA: I have been to the Chicago-North Spring Fling for the last 3 conferences (it’s every other year). It’s a smaller conference filled with wonderful people who have been kind and supportive of me, even though I don’t live in Chicago! I’ve been to RWA twice, and both times learned so much and met such wonderful people. I’m presenting at the Grand Rapids Region Writers Group conference on November 2 & 3, and then I’m getting very excited for RT in May, 2013! It’ll be my first RT, and I’m super excited!

CABR: Lucky readers who’ll get to meet you soon.

What role does social media play, if any, in your work – be it inspiration, plot help or general feedback?

SMA: Social media isn’t the most natural thing for me. Facebook has been better for me reconnecting with a few old friends and keeping in contact with relatives. Twitter is where I go to hang out with author friends. I also find Twitter is useful for keeping an eye on what’s happening in the publishing world, but I’m more of a lurker in that respect than anything.

CABR: What’s the funniest fan interaction you’ve had?

SMA: We were visiting my in-laws in central Illinois and stopped at their local Target. I went back to see if they had my July book, Privilege and they did! It was the first time I had seen it in the wild, so I stuck in some bookmarks and got my husband to take my picture. A older gentleman watched me the whole time with obvious suspicion, so after the photo, I asked him if he’d like an autographed book for the woman in his life? He asked, “Are you the author?” in such a disbelieving tone that I had to laugh! But when I gave him my business card, he warmed up immediately and bought a book for his wife, since they had a three-day weekend trip coming up. What a nice guy!

CABR: That’s funny and sweet.

Were you awestruck upon meeting any particular author/s at conventions? Were you able to ‘keep it together’?

SMA: Ah, no. My very first Spring Fling, I made a *huge* fool of myself trying to make small talk with a Very Famous Author . . . while standing in line for the ladies room. Granted, I had *no* idea what I was doing at all, so that was just part of a larger cluelessness. But I’m much better now. God, I hope, anyway!

CABR: If you could be someone else for a day, from any time in history, who would you be and why?

SMA: Once upon a time, I would have said I wanted to be a Lakota Indian about 300 years ago. I’ve always been drawn to their horse culture – what girl doesn’t love horses! But these days, I know that life would have been a *lot* harder and I’m appreciative of my dishwasher, among other things!

CABR: Which character from fiction, yours or another author’s, would you like to spend time with and why?

SMA: I’d like to spend a little time with Rebel Runs Fast from my January release, “Mystic Cowboy”. He’s a medicine man with a sense of humor – spending an evening with him would be highly entertaining (and I’m not *just* saying that because of his penchant for skinny-dipping!)

I’d also go all the way back to my youth, with Scott O’Dell’s Island of the Blue Dolphins. That book laid a foundation for a lot of my creative thinking for decades to come. Plus, the heroine was stranded all alone on a deserted island – as an introvert, that really spoke to me!

CABR: Interesting! 🙂 Thanks again Sarah for taking the time to do the interview.

OK folks, here’s a reminder about the GIVEAWAY.

LEAVE A COMMENT below about why you’d love to WIN an autographed copy of “A Man of Distinction” and Sarah will randomly choose a name. Plus, you also have a chance to win a handcrafted book necklace made by Sarah herself! Check the Authorial Moms blog September 11th to see if you were the winner!

